Driving while under the influence (DUI) is illegal in Tennessee. In Tennessee, DUI laws have many components including blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limits, which are different for adults and minors, criminal sentences with jail time and fines, driver’s license revocations, ignition interlock devices, etc.
Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-10-401
For individuals under 21, Tennessee has a “zero tolerance” policy. If a person under 21 has a BAC of .02 while driving, the person can be found to have committed a DUI. If a person 16-20 is found guilty of impaired driving, their license will be revoked for one year, they’ll receive a $250 fine, and the court can impose community service.
Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-10-415
If you are convicted of DUI, you are subject to heavy penalties. These penalties include possible imprisonment of up to 11 months and 29 days, a loss of your driver’s license for 1 year, a fine up to $1,500 in addition to court costs, completion of an alcohol and drug treatment program course, restitution, ignition interlock device installation, etc. In some circumstances where a person has previous DUI convictions, or causes death or serious bodily injury to another person, or commits a DUI with a passenger under 18 years old, then they will be charged with a felony, increased fines, and could face prison time and a permanent loss of driver’s license.